+ Add An Event

Advertise With Us

Make an impression — place an ad on The Dance Enthusiast and receive thousands of eyes on your work every week. Learn more

Contribute

Your support helps us cover dance in New York City and beyond! Donate now.

Ballet Hispanico

Company:

Ballet Hispanico

Location:

The Joyce Theater

Dates:

Tuesday, April 16, 2013 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 7:30pm
Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 8:00pm
Friday, April 19, 2013 - 8:00pm
Saturday, April 20, 2013 - 2:00pm, 8:00pm
Sunday, April 21, 2013 - 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 8:00pm
Friday, April 26, 2013 - 8:00pm
Saturday, April 27, 2013 - 2:00pm, 8:00pm
Sunday, April 28, 2013 - 2:00pm

Tickets:

www.ballethispanico.org

Company:
Ballet Hispanico

Ballet Hispanico, recognized as the nation’s leading Latino dance organization since 1970, returns to The Joyce Theater for its 25th annual New York Season from April 16-28, 2013. Tickets range from 0-9. Tickets are available by phone at 212-242-0800 or online at Joyce.org. The Joyce Theater is located at 175 Eighth Avenue (at 19th Street), NYC.

Program A gives voice to a stellar trio of Spanish works: the world premiere of Sortijas by Cayetano Soto, one of the most dynamic and groundbreaking Spanish choreographers of his generation; the 30th anniversary—and Company premiere—of Jardi Tancat, the award-winning work that launched Nacho Duato’s career; and the Joyce premiere of A vueltas con los ochenta by the cutting-edge duo Inma García and Meritxell Barberá, which explores the “Movida Madrileña” against the backdrop of 1980s Europop. 

Program B jewels include Argentinean Alejandro Cervera’s Tango Vitrola, along with Artistic Director Eduardo Vilaro’s Danzón, set to live music by Latin Jazz legend Paquito D’Rivera. The return of audience favorite Nube Blanco is a flamenco-inspired treat to behold. 

Ballet Hispanico will perform April 16-28, 2013 at The Joyce Theater, with performances Tuesday and Wednesday at 7:30pm; Thursday and Friday at 8pm; Saturday at 2pm and 8pm; and Sunday at 2pm and 7:30pm (Evening performance on Sunday, April 21 only).

 

+ Add An Event