+ Add An Event

Advertise With Us

Make an impression — place an ad on The Dance Enthusiast and receive thousands of eyes on your work every week. Learn more

Contribute

Your support helps us cover dance in New York City and beyond! Donate now.

Night (Thyestes 2.0)

Night (Thyestes 2.0)

Company:

The New Stage Theatre

Location:

Theater for the New City, 155 1st Avenue, New York, NY 10003, United States

Dates:

Friday, April 24, 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, April 25, 2015 - 8:00pm
Sunday, April 26, 2015 - 3:00pm
Thursday, April 30, 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, May 1, 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 8:00pm
Sunday, May 3, 2015 - 3:00pm
Thursday, May 7, 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, May 8, 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, May 9, 2015 - 8:00pm
Sunday, May 10, 2015 - 3:00pm

Tickets:

www.SmarTix .com

Company:
The New Stage Theatre

Theater for the New City, in association with The New Stage Theatre Company, is presenting the world premiere of "Night (Thyestes 2.0)" by Charles L. Mee, directed and designed by Ildiko Nemeth, from April 24 to May 10, 2015. The piece combines sections of the classic tale with an equally dark modern vision. Charles L. Mee imagined his play, "Night (Thyestes 2.0)," as a dance theatre piece with some text and a lot of physical performance. The piece evolved from and contains sections of the classic tale "Thyestes" by Seneca. Says Mee, “It is all nightmare and despair and darkness.” Such is the typical fare of ancients, but in a whirlwind of vivid scenes, Mee bridges the torture, murder and cannibalism dogging ill-fated Tantalus to modern plagues frightening and banal, from war crimes to YouTube vapidity. In this world premiere, The New Stage Theatre Company brings a bold mix of choreography, video projection, costuming, lighting and sound to Mee’s rhapsodic vision, resulting in a night of wonderfully disorienting theatre.
 

+ Add An Event