+ Add An Event

Advertise With Us

Make an impression — place an ad on The Dance Enthusiast and receive thousands of eyes on your work every week. Learn more

Contribute

Your support helps us cover dance in New York City and beyond! Donate now.

The Only Tribe

The Only Tribe

Company:

Peter Kyle

Location:

3LD Art & Technology Center (80 Greenwich Street at Rector)

Dates:

Friday, November 28, 2008 - 8:00pm
Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 8:00pm
Saturday, December 20, 2008 - 8:00pm
Friday, December 19, 2008 - 8:00pm
Thursday, December 18, 2008 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 17, 2008 - 8:00pm
Saturday, December 13, 2008 - 8:00pm
Friday, December 12, 2008 - 8:00pm
Thursday, December 11, 2008 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 10, 2008 - 8:00pm
Saturday, December 6, 2008 - 8:00pm
Friday, December 5, 2008 - 8:00pm
Thursday, December 4, 2008 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 3, 2008 - 8:00pm
Sunday, November 30, 2008 - 3:00pm
Sunday, December 7, 2008 - 3:00pm
Sunday, December 14, 2008 - 3:00pm

Tickets:

http://www.3LDNYC.org

Company:
Peter Kyle

THE ONLY TRIBE is a fantasia that blends together movement, masks and sociology. This mythical tale explores how identity creates relationships, stirs conflicting tribal identities, and leads to eventual chaos. The distinct geometric shapes of the masks are employed in an exploration of individual identity and the formation of group identities. Through ritualistic movement, sets of masks interact with lighting and projected images to conjure strong visual imagery while music and sound provide emotional contrast and congruency. THE ONLY TRIBE cannot be defined by style or ethnicity; rather, visual elements, sound and movement combine to create a unique dance-theatre experience.

+ Add An Event